What happened:

  1. Double clicked on a block to enter block edit mode
  2. Made changes to block
  3. Undid changes, until I received a message saying Rhino was exiting Block edit mode because I had undone all the changes I made to the block
  4. Ran redo. Rhino appeared to enter back into block edit mode, but without the usual dialog box. Running 'unlock' appears to fix things, but also appears to explode the block I was editing.

Also, when in the block editor I can run unlock and edit all other objects not in the current block. If I finish the block edit, and then undo, I can undo changes made to the block, but not changes made to other objects while I was in block edit mode.

Is it intentional that the user can circumvent block editing by using 'lock' and 'unlock'? It works for the most part, but there seem to be a couple particular instances in which the illusion that the block editor is creating (using lock, explode, and unlock) breaks down.

Tags: block, blockedit, lock, unlock

Views: 2193

Replies to This Discussion

Hi Trygve - This (the first part of your report) sounds nasty to me. I cannot reproduce it so far however. What should happen is:

Make a line. 

Double-click on a block.

Move an object in the block.

Undo

  The move is undone

Undo

  At this point, the Undo stack moves out of the BlockEdit command and undoes the line, with a message telling you that it did so. Do you see this?

Still looking at the Lock comments, I am not sure I can reproduce this either.

thanks,

-Pascal

pascal@mcneel.com

Yep, I did what you describe, and get what you get. Right at the end of your list, run 'Redo'. Now, at least for me, I'm in the limbo state I described above. 

For the second, when you are editing a block, run 'unlock'. Does nothing outside the block unlock? It does for me.

Thanks for your help.

Trygve

Yep, I did what you describe, and get what you get. Right at the end of your list, run 'Redo'. Now, at least for me, I'm in the limbo state I described above. 

OK, I am with you now. 

For the second, when you are editing a block, run 'unlock'. Does nothing outside the block unlock?

Yes... I am not sure what should happen here because in general, Rhino commands are active in block edit so that you can do things to the block. I'll check with the developer- maybe we can selectively disable commands.

thanks, 

-Pascal

pascal@mcneel.com

RSS

Translate

© 2014   Created by McNeel Admin.

Badges  |  Report an Issue  |  Terms of Service